The Retina Hall of Fame

The purpose of the Retina Hall of Fame is to promote scientific advancement in the diagnosis and treatment of retina disorders through educational programs, by supporting research efforts, through recognition of innovators and leaders in the field of retina, by publication of information relating to diagnosis and treatment of retina diseases, or other programs determined by the Board of Directors.  The Retina Hall of Fame honors many talented and dedicated individuals.  These physicians, scientists and related health care workers, over many centuries and countless generations, have devoted their professional lives to innovation, research and clinical care in the field of retina.  They have saved many from blindness and improved innumerable lives.

The metaphor of dwarfs standing on the shoulders of giants (nanos gigantum humeris insidentes) expresses the meaning of "discovering truth by building on previous discoveries."  The concept has been traced to the 12th Century, attributed to Bernard of Chartres.  However, its most familiar expression in English is credited to Sir Isaac Newton in 1676:  "If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants."

Hopefully, we are only at the very beginning of a long journey to stamp out all human suffering due to blindness.  With this in mind, each of us, honored through election to the Retina Hall of Fame, welcomes those who follow to "stand on our shoulders."  We know we will have been successful if future generations bring so many new retinal cures that our specialty will look back on us as the "dwarfs."

We are pleased to recognize EyePoint Pharmaceuticals as our "charter" corporate sponsor.  We are very grateful for their support of the Retina Hall of Fame!


The Retina Hall of Fame was established in 2016.  The founders, each with a history of leadership in the field of retina disease, desire to honor the significant contributions of their colleagues.  Each retina specialist in the Hall of Fame is recognized for his or her innovation and dedication to both patients and research.

Meet the founding board of directors - CLICK HERE

View the charter members of the RHOF -



October 11, 2019 -- Alice R. McPherson, MD was presented with the First Retina Hall of Fame award during the Retina Subspecialty Day at the 2019 American Academy of Ophthalmology annual meeting in San Francisco.  Read more here 

NEW!  The Retina Hall of Fame Board of Directors is pleased to announce that five distinguished physicians and scientists have been inducted into the RHOF as the Class of 2020.|

-- VIEW THE LIST of new members.

Current members of the Retina Hall of Fame may recommend candidates throughout the year for consideration.  We are accepting nominations for the Class of 2021 at the present time.  CLICK HERE for details about making a nomination.